This years AGM was held at the Crooklands Hotel in Cumbria where members enjoyed a Farm walk, AGM, After dinner speaker, Raffle and prize giving.

Annual General Meeting 2019

The day started with a farm walk which was very kindly hosted by Judith and Graham Galbraith who have a small flock of MV Hampshire Downs which run alongside their dairy herd and a commercial flock of sheep. Graham explained how they got into Hampshires and how they played a vital role in their system. Judith then showed us the in-lamb ewes and gave us an excellent presentation on worm resistance. Members also had a small stock judging competition of Hampshire ewe lambs where member Kate Scott won the competition.






Farm walk hosted by Judith and Graham Galbraith

The AGM followed where president Robert Price chaired the meeting. Treasurer Kate Esler reported back on this year’s set of accounts which showed a healthy surplus. Chairman Linda Barnard reported back over the highlights of the year and thanked everyone for her term as chairman. Linda Barnard handed over the Chairman’s position to Gwilym Pugh and Robert Price handed over the role of President to Catherine Kewley.

Robert Price awarding Linda Barnard Honorary Life Membership of The Kerry Hill Flock Book Society in recognition of outstanding service to the Society  

Members enjoyed a three-course meal followed by after-dinner speaker Amanda Owens the Yorkshire Shepherdess. She talked about her life story and how she got into Agriculture being a first-generation farmer with her husband Clive.

After dinner speaker Amanda Owens

A prize-giving followed for various awards and points gained throughout the year. The results are as follows:

The Cwmwhitton Cup

1st Andrew Fisher 111 points

2nd A Powell/E Rhys Roberts 100 points

3rd G Roberts 79 points

The John Brick Ram of the year trophy

1st A Powell/E Rhys Roberts 27 points

2nd R & J Price 19 points

3rd J & P Owens 17 points

The Wenham & Elliott silver salver

J & P Owens

The Downwood perpetual cup

A Probert

The Haresgreen challenge cup

A Probert

The GW Roberts perpetual cup

G W Roberts selling 4 rams to an average of £874.12

The Glyn Owens cup for young handler of the year

1st S Brown

2nd T Ridge

3rd G Brown

4th W Whybrow

5th C Whybrow

The Wrotham trophy

1st L Barritt

2nd S Brown

3rd WE & MA Lewis

4th A Bostock

5th R Powell/ E Rhys Roberts

6th M & V Pearse

The Kingswater cup

1st J Rowe & T Webb

2nd K Esler & E Simmons

3rd J & P Owens

3rd R & J Price

President and Chairman with Prize winners