Our Annual General Meeting and Dinner was certainly “back in the room” at Crooklands Hotel, Kendal.   There was an air of positivity at the AGM and it was great to see and hear from new faces joining the meeting for the first time.  Following the AGM members appreciated the opportunity to meet and catch up with friends before dinner was served.

Trophies were polished and ready to go, so after dinner, this years Flock Competition Judge Gwilym Pugh set about finding them new mantlepieces. A total of 27 flocks had entered this year, and having travelled the length and breadth of the U.K, Gwilym thanked all the competitors for their hospitality and taking the time to show off their flocks.

Trophies were also awarded for the Sales, Young Handlers points and Any Other Native Showing Class points, the results were as follows:

JA Bevan Perpetual Challenge Cup

Flock Competition under 10 ewes

1st                  Chris Adamson – 2582

2nd                          H Wooldridge – 2719

3rd                  R McCauley – 2097

4th                  Tim Ward – 0059

W V Davies KH (Wales) FBS Trophy

Flock Competition – Best flock up to 11-30 ewes

1st                   Gareth Richards – 2579

2nd                  Tom Evans – 2485

3rd                  G Myrset Davis – 2388

4th                   Andrew Griffiths – 2142

John Bache Challenge Cup  

Flock Competition up to 31-75 ewes

1st                   J & P Owens – 2020

2nd                  G Munro Henworth – 2768

3rd                   K Esler & E Simmons – 2337

4th                   RG, MG Young & Partner – 2058

W H Leslie (Morgan Moore) Commemorative Cup & RW Venables Perpetual Shepherd Cup

Flock Competition – Best Breeding Flock over 75 ewes

1st                   W Evans & J Etheridge – 2130

2nd                  Anthony John – 0938

JE Anthony (Cwmberllan) Challenge Cup

Flock Competition – Champion Flock Overall Champion and Yvonne Brown Tankard 

Winner          J & P Owens – 2020

Reserve Champion Flock 2021                                         

Winner          Chris Adamson – 2582

W&J Clarke Perpetual Challenge Cup 

Best Ram Lamb                                                              

1st                         H Wooldridge – 2719

2nd                Robert Price – 2151

3rd                  J & P Owens -2020

4th                  Tom Evans – 2485

Gwen Pugh  Award

Best ewe lambs

1st                       K Esler & E Simmons – 2337

2nd                     Tom Evans – 2485

3rd                      J & P Owens – 2020

4th                      Anthony John – 0938


The Cwm Whitton Challenge Cup for the most show points during season and the John Brick Ram of the Year will not be awarded this year due to the lack of shows to make it possible.

Wrotham Trophy

Most points in AOB classes                      

1st GILLY PEMBROKE – 46 points

2nd SAMMY BROWN – 36 points


Centenery Perpetual Challenge Cup                        

Most points during season                

1st – CHARLIE WHYBROW- 15 points

2nd – WILLIAM WYBROW – 9 points


Haresgreen Challenge Trophy                                

Overall champion at Ludlow sale

J&P OWENS – 2020

Downwood Perpetual Cup

Champion male at Ludlow sale                                         

J&P OWENS – 2020

Wenham & Elliott Perpetual Trophy

Champion female at Ludlow sale


GW Roberts Ludlow Sale Cup

Best average price for a pen of 3 or more shearling rams to have been bred by one vendor at Ludlow sale

J&P OWENS (4400gn)


Champion                                                                       A Burgess    – 2612

Reserve Champion                                                         G Pugh – 2344

Best opposite sex to champion                                       Miss ER Ward – 2548         


Champion                                                                   A Fisher – 2618

Reserve Champion                                                    C&B Price – 2319

Photographic Competition 

Winner – N Burrows – 02356

  • January – N Burrows – Dunstarn
  • February – E Sturch – Ventures
  • March – L Whitehead – Wycoller
  • April – Chris Adamson – Whitfield
  • May – N Barrett – Glenariff
  • June – H Macleod – Carpenters
  • July – R Willan – Derwent
  • August – N Barrett – Glenariff
  • September – S McCarlie – Hassockrigg
  • October – S McCarlie – Hassockrigg
  • November – R Willan – Derwent
  • December – S McCarlie – Hassockrigg
Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin